On the Diagonal

What happens when design industry colleagues gather after hours for a friendly game of 8 ball?

To mark the worldwide launch of Diagonal, the streamlined pool table by Yonoh for RS Barcelona, last Thursday at A+R, the rousing eve engendered strangers to quickly become friends and the reticent to reveal their shark-like alter egos.

Players hailed from Gensler, Tangram, Okidoki, Wrk-Shp, Studio RitzRabin, MASHstudios and other design studios around LA. And experience level be damned. It all came down to verve—and a shot or 2 of IPA—for these intrepid competitors to prove they could be the one to take top title of champion (and the $500 A+R gift card).

Fueled on crudité and charcuterie, each player wielded the Dufferin Canadian Maple pool cue like a champ. Amicable wrangling over the rules was only part of the spirited exchange that filled the showroom—to be forever AKA Club A+R.

That’s because pool wasn’t the only game on tap that evening. A bright yellow Foosball Table had also just arrived from RS Barcelona days before the event, and proved a favorite among revelers waiting their turn at the Diagonal.

Outside in A+R’s patio, the Spanish brand’s signature You+Me Ping Pong Table took a walloping under the string lights illuminating the midnight blue sky.

A rollicking 2 and a half hours into the match, the victors emerged: runner-up Paul Rinis (there with FiveNineDesign’s Allyn Davis) scored a gleaming silver Wall Champion wall hook courtesy of RS Barcelona; and the crown—along with the A+R gift card—went to graphic designer David Evans.

Calls throughout the night to make game night a regular happening at A+R were heard loud and clear. Stay tuned…

Daniel Rabin of Studio RitzRabin in between rounds.

Willard Ford, Meredith Hewson and Andrea Ching toast the launch.

Racked and ready to crack.

Singled Out: the players for the inaugural Diagonal match.

Gensler competitors Almodina Lopez and Kate O'Connor

A+R's Louise Lund and indie brand rep Andrea Ching

You+Me (ping pong) and Nina Noo of A+R

Winners! Runner up Paul Rinis and champ David Evans